It’s been a while

I just realized its been over a month since my last blog. Time flies when your having fun. It also flies when you are busy with work, birthdays, holidays, and mini-vacations.

Our Biggest Loser competition is over. My team won, however I think I lost the least amount of weight on my team. But I still lost. And I completed the challenge. That’s what’s important. Right now I’m doing a 3 day Shakeology cleanse with Joel. The basics- green tea 1st thing in the morning, a shake for breakfast, a small snack (fruit or veggies), a shake at lunch, another small snack, and dinner we get a salad with low-fat dressing and small piece of chicken or fish. The shakes can also have fruit in them so that helps. It clears out the unnatural sugars and processed crap and fills you with the superfoods/vitamins/minerals from the Shakeology, fresh fruits/veggies, and healthy proteins. Nothing processed. It’s more about cleaning out the crap (figuratively, it doesn’t make you poop more than usual) than about losing weight.

Speaking of Shakeology and stuff, my NY resolutions are going ok. I wanted to lose 25lbs or so, not sure that will happen, however we’re only a third of the way thru the year. Since the year started, I’ve yoyo’d and am pretty much within a pound or 2 where I started. I wanted 2 vegetarian days per week, but that has been hard. I’ve been able to go 2 breakfast, 2 lunch, and 2 dinners in a week meat free, but they don’t always land on the same day. I am trying to get back in to a better routine of the full day without meat. I’ve failed on the learning to cook a new meal each month. The 1st 2 months of the year were good, but then Joel started cooking more of the meals. We did try new recipes, but they were cooked by Joel, not me. I have gone on all but 1 walks Joel has taken Doc on but I failed, miserably, on completing P90X. I did the first phase, went to Vegas, and never got back into the groove. It’s hard to find an exercise program when you really hate working out. I did find a couple things I like doing on the videos, so we’ll see. I’ve got 8 months to finish the last 2 months worth of the program. As far as reading goes, I finished 1 book and am halfway thru the second. I think that’s a good start. One was a biography on Lincoln and the current one is about “Dallas” the TV show. I found another one about Scientology that I’m excited to move on to next. As you can see, fiction isn’t really my thing. I did get my second tattoo so we’ve crossed that off the list and I do still have some new credit card debt, but hopefully it will be gone by years end.

A couple reasons why we still have a little bit of the debt is because of some good and bad things the year has brought. On the bad side, I had to pay my deductible on my car accident to get it fixed. It wasn’t much, but it will be nice if my insurance company recovers it from the guy that hit me so I can apply that back to my balance. Also, as I learned last year, Delta Dental does NOT like white fillings. I’ve had to pay for recent dental work out of pocket and with my wisdom teeth coming out soon, that’s more money! On the good side, we’ve taken a couple fun weekend trips. Vegas in February and just recently a trip to the Bay Area and Sonoma. Definitely fun times and worth every penny spent! I’m also pushing for a pool this summer, so that will be added debt, but it will be worth it!

I wish I had more time to blog, there are still so many topics to write about, but I’ve been so busy! I hope to get back into my old routine and back to writing!

20130424-135335.jpg

20130424-135412.jpg

20130424-135439.jpg

About paulhoffman23

A gay 40-year old writing about whatever comes to mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment